Skip to content

Condoleezza Rice among 13 selected to choose College Football Playoff teams

Oct 16, 2013, 1:52 PM PDT

Credit: Jason O. Watson-US PRESSWIRE

Three people with strong Stanford University ties will be on the 13-member committee to select the teams for the first College Football Playoff.

Condoleezza Rice, a Stanford University professor and former Secretary of the State, is one of the members of the committee. Also named were former Stanford head coach Tyrone Willingham and Oliver Luck, the father of former Stanford quarterback, Andrew Luck.

The first College Football Playoff is set to take place at the end of the 2014 season and the entire list of committee members tasked to select the four participating teams were unanimously selected. The announcement was made by Bill Hancock, the executive director of the College Football Playoffs. In the release, it is noted that the committee members have roughly 230 years of combined college football experience.

Unlike the Bowl Championship Series, the College Football Playoff will take into account more than statistical analysis, polls and computer data. The committee members will be presented with similar figures, but will be trusted to look at other factors as they decide which teams get into the playoff games.

Here’s the entire list of members as released by the College Football Playoff website:

Jeff Long, vice chancellor and director of athletics, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, Chair

Barry Alvarez, director of athletics, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Lieutenant General Mike Gould, former superintendent of the United States Air Force Academy

Pat Haden, director of athletics, University of Southern California

Tom Jernstedt, former NCAA executive vice president

Oliver Luck, director of athletics, West Virginia University

Archie Manning, former University of Mississippi quarterback and all-pro NFL quarterback

Tom Osborne, former head coach and director of athletics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Dan Radakovich, director of athletics, Clemson University

Condoleezza Rice, Stanford University professor, former Stanford provost and former United States Secretary of State

Mike Tranghese, former commissioner of the Big East Conference

Steve Wieberg, former college football reporter, USA Today

Tyrone Willingham, former head coach of three FBS institutions

Field of Teams

Join us on the Field of Teams as we cover the fun, viral, sometimes even downright weird aspects of Bay Area sports, powered by Casey Pratt and the staff.

Do you have a nugget for our Field of Teams staff? Is there something about Bay Area sports you've always wanted to know? Email us and let us know -- if we use it, we got a t-shirt in it for ya.